As an administrator, you can change the permissions that users have in your community, for example, you could turn a user into an administrator, or you could allow a user to edit the blog in your community. To learn more about the different user types and permissions that users can have, please take a look at our guide to Understanding user permissions.

In this article:

  • Editing user access permissions

  • Editing blog permissions

  • Changing the permissions of multiple users

  • Changing users permissions in bulk


Editing user access permissions

A user's access can be set to one of three options:

User

The person will be a User, with no additional permissions. If you'd like them to be a challenge moderator, this is configured in Challenge Access (please see our guide to challenge access for more information)

Admin

The person will be an administrator, which means that they have access to the Crowd Management menu and can therefore do things like create and edit challenges, change the design of your community and invite users.

Remove Access/ Banned

The user will no longer be able to sign into your community. If you have a private community, you will see 'Remove access' and if you have a public community, this option will say 'Banned'.

To change a user's access:

1. Go to the User Management area in the Crowd Management menu and make sure that the Manage Users tab is open.

2. In the list of users, find the user whose access you want to change and click Edit and then select Permissions


3. A window will open, allowing you to select the type of access you would like that user to have. The first drop-down box allows you to edit the user's level of access to the community: Admin, User, or Removed/Banned

4. When you have selected the level of access that you'd like that user to have, click Save changes


Editing blog permissions

If you have a blog in your Crowdicity community, you can give additional permissions to users that allow them to write or edit blog posts.

There are 3 levels of blog permissions that a user can have:

User

No special permissions. User can comment on and subscribe to blog posts.

Blog contributor

This user can write posts for the blog.

Blog Editor

A blog editor can write and edit blogs. They can also manage blog categories and move posts into these categories.

You change a user's blog permissions in much the same way as you change their access permissions:

1. Go to the User Management area in the Crowd Management menu and make sure that the 'Manage Users' tab is open.


2. Find the user who's blog permissions you want to change. Click on the Edit drop-down field and select Permissions. This will open a pop-up window that allows you to change the access and blog permissions for that user.


3. The second drop-down field allows you to choose blog permissions, select the option that you want and click Save changes.


Changing permissions for multiple users

If you'd like to change the access or blog permissions for a number of users, it's possible to manage the permissions of multiple users at the same time.

If you'd like to change a number of users in the community:

1. Go to User Management and make sure that the Manage users tab is open.

2. Tick the box next to the users that you want to edit. You can select users from multiple pages should you need to.


3. When you have selected the tick box of one or more users, you will see the Permissions button at the top of the list. Click on the Permissions button to open the window that will allow you to edit the user's permissions.

4. Select the Access and Blog permissions that you would like for these users and click Update Users to apply your changes.


Bulk Permission Change


If you would like to change the access settings for a large number of users, you can apply a change of user access permission in bulk, using their email addresses.

To change the access settings for a large number of users at the same time:

1. Go to User Management and make sure that the Manage users tab is open.

2. Click the Tool button and select Bulk Permission Change. This will open a new window allowing you to add your list of users.


3. In the Email addresses field, add your list of users. Email address can either be added as one address per line or can be added on the same line, separated by commas.

4. In the User Permissions drop-down menu, select the permission that you would like to apply to these users Once selected, click Update users.

Good to know

Email addresses that do not belong to a current user or those who have been declined access, will be ignored.


Did this answer your question?