Challenge options allow you control what users can do in your challenges, for example, you can prevent users from posting comments, you can allow them to post as a group or you can prevent them from editing their idea after a certain amount of time.

In this article

  • Editing challenge options

  • Available challenge options


Editing challenge options

Challenge options are available in the Settings tab in the challenge editor. By default a number of options will already be selected so that users can post ideas, comments, etc in a challenge, but you can edit these settings at time.

To Edit challenge options:

  1. Go to Challenge Management and click the Edit button of the Challenge that you'd like to edit.

  2. In the challenge setup page, click on the Settings tab - challenge options are towards the bottom of this tab. For funnel challenges, many of these settings are available instead on the Challenge Type tab, where you can edit the settings per phase.

  3. Tick the box next to an option to turn it on or un-tick it to turn it off, click save when you have finished.

Challenge settings screen

Good to know

If you have added a funnel to your challenge, you will be able to edit these options for each stage of your funnel. See our guides on adding a funnel to a challenge and editing funnel phases for more information.


Available challenge options

Option

Description

Visible

When this option is not selected, the challenge will not appear in the activity feeds on the standard home page, nor will users receive email notifications about activity in the challenge.

Post ideas

When this option is not selected users will not be able to add ideas to the challenge. Deselecting the option will not remove any ideas that are currently in the challenge, it will just stop further ideas from being added.

Joint submissions

When this option is selected users can post ideas with co-authors, as a group. For more information about the Joint submissions option, check out our help guide: Understanding Joint idea submissions.

Vote on ideas

When this option is not selected users will not be able to vote on ideas. If you would like users to vote on each other's ideas, this box should be ticked.

Post comments

When this option is not selected users will not be able to comment on ideas. If you would like users to comment on each other's ideas, this box should be ticked.

Vote on comments

When this option is not selected users will not be able to vote on comments that have been posted to ideas. By default, users can give comments a thumbs up or thumbs down vote, if you un-tick this box, users will not be able to vote on comments.

Show 'closed'

When this option is selected the challenge will be shown as Closed: it will have the 'Closed' banner in the top corner of the challenge page and on the challenge listing image. Closed challenges are not shown on the challenge directory page unless a user chooses to include them. If you'd like to know more about the challenge directory page, please see our guide for users on finding challenges in a community.

Lock edit

When this option is selected users will only be able to edit their ideas for a limited amount of time after they post it. After the time has elapsed, neither users nor moderators/administrators will be able to edit the idea. If you'd like to know more about the lock edit function, please read our guide to understanding the feature.

Idea visibility

When Visible to anyone with access to the challenge is selected, which is the default, all ideas can be viewed by any user that can view the challenge. All users are subject to the usual permissions settings, at the challenge, phase or milestone level.

When Visible to challenge moderators only is selected, submitted ideas are not visible to other users. Only moderators and the original idea author(s) can view the idea. For more information about this feature, read the guide for this feature.

Did this answer your question?