Creating user groups in a Crowdicity community allows you to send targeted emails, set up challenges for an exclusive selection of people and can add value to the available user activity information.

User groups aren't visible to users, only to administrators, so users wont know if you have added them to, or removed them from a group.

In this article:

  • Creating a new user group

  • Adding users to a group

  • Editing and deleting groups

  • Removing users from a group


Creating a new user group

You can add a new user group in the User Management section of the Crowd Management menu.

When you click on User Management the tab that opens is Manage users, which shows the users in your community. On the right hand side of the page, underneath the list of User types (Admins, Users, etc) you will see any custom groups that are set up in your community.

To create a new user group:

  1. Click on 'New group..' This will open a pop up window.

  2. Type in the name of the group in the text box and click Save


Adding users to a group

You can add users to a group either when you send an invitation to join your community, or after they have registered.

To add a user to a group when you send an invitation to join your community:

  1. In the Invite users tab of user management, enter the email address of anyone that you would like to invite to your community.

  2. Complete the other sections on the 'Invite users form' (eg User permissions, notify users with email, etc.)

  3. When there are custom groups in your community, they will be at the bottom of the invite page next to 'Add to these groups'. Select any groups that you want the users to be added to when they register to your community.

  4. When you have completed the form, click Invite users. In the invited users list, any groups the user will be added to will be displayed next to their name.

To add existing user to user groups:

  1. Go to the Manage Users tab in User Management

  2. Click on the user's profile picture and drag it to the name of your group.

Good to know

If you'd like to add a few users to same group, select the tick box next to each user then drag and drop any of one them into a group to add all that you have selected.

If you'd like to add a lot of users to a group in one go, there is a feature that allows you to type of list of email addresses of users that you'd like in a one group. To learn more about this, have a look at our guide to bulk group management.


Editing and deleting user groups

If you want to change the name of a group that you've created, or no longer need it, you can edit or delete the group in User Management:

1. Click on User Management in the Crowd Management menu, this will open the Manage users tab.

2. On the right of the page you will see any custom groups that you have created. Click on the name of the group that you want to edit.

3. As well as showing a list of the members of that group, the options to Edit and Delete the group will be visible under the name of the group.


4. Click Edit to change the name of the group or click Delete to remove the group from your community - this won't delete the members of the group.


Removing users from a group

You can see which users are in a group by following steps 1 and 2 above; clicking on the name of the group will bring up a list of all of the users in that group.

To remove a user from a group:

1. Any groups that a member is in are shown underneath their email address in the 'Manage users' section. Next to the name of the group, there is a small cross.

2. Click on the cross to remove the user from the group.

Did this answer your question?